Trust My Data

Call for solution type:
Innovation Partnership
Dates Of public procurement:
from 21-07-2021 to 15-09-2021
Demo Day:
15-12-2021
Status:
In development
To the public procurement portal
Press release

Learn more about the progress of the second challenge of the GovTech Lab (French version).

Identified challenge

The Once Only principle, which aims not to ask the citizen for some information he or she has already provided to the state a second time, does currently not expand outside of the public sector. When it comes to use government-issued documents in the private sector, PDF and paper documents are the most widely used forms today. Some of these documents are secured by a QR code called GouvCheck, which allows to verify the authenticity of the document.

This implies that digital or physical onboarding of a customer with a service provider is generally based on physical paper or PDF documents. To process the data from these documents, the data is entered manually into an external IT system, which is a waste of time and a source of errors. Additionally, verifying the data and check the authenticity is a manual and time-consuming process, which explains why these verifications are rarely done. Solutions such as optical character recognition (OCR) exist to partially compensate for these shortcomings, but only a native digital process, with standardized and structured data would improve the user experience and increase the level of security and guarantee the authenticity of data.

It is with this in mind that several initiatives are proposing the issuance of digital attestations, as for example the revision proposed by the eIDAS regulation (see diagram in the appendix). These digital attestations present data in structured and verifiable format. This data can be read and verified by the entity to which these attestations are presented - all automatically and in real time without contacting the issuer. These digital attestations also have the advantage of allowing partial sharing of information that appears on the attestation (selective disclosure). For example, a person can share proof that they are over 18, without having to disclose their date of birth (data minimization).

In order to digitize and secure the exchange of State-certified data, the State wishes to issue verifiable digital credentials in addition to current physical paper and PDF documents. The goal is to allow a secure and interoperable exchange of structured data with automatic verification of authenticity – all relying on open standards (recognized concept of Self Sovereign Identity).

The use case chosen for this call for solutions is that of a verifiable digital residency certificate for the citizen. The same principle can be extended to any other attestations issued by the State or the private sector. The citizen must be able to store the different digital attestations in a digital wallet and present them in full or only the required elements.

Trust My Data

Type d'appel à solution:
Partenariat d'innovation
Dates du marché public:
du 21-07-2021 au 15-09-2021
Demo Day:
15-12-2021
Statut:
Développement clôturé
Vers le portail des marchés publics
Communiqué de presse

En savoir plus sur l'avancement du deuxième défi du GovTech Lab.

Défi identifié

Le principe du « Once Only », qui vise à ne pas redemander des informations que le citoyen a déjà fourni à l’Etat, ne s’étend pas en dehors du périmètre du secteur public. Lorsqu’il s’agit donc de produire des documents émis par l’Etat en destination d’entités du secteur privé, le document PDF et le papier sont les formes les plus utilisées aujourd’hui. Une partie de ceux-ci est sécurisée par un code QR appelé GouvCheck.

Ceci implique qu’une entrée en relation numérique ou physique entre un client et un fournisseur de services se base en règle générale sur des documents papiers ou PDF. Les données issues de ces documents doivent donc être insérées manuellement dans le système informatique du fournisseur, ce qui représente une perte de temps et est source d’erreurs importantes. De plus, la vérification des données et de leur authenticité est un processus manuel et difficile, raison pour laquelle ces vérifications ne sont faites que rarement. Des solutions telles que le optical character recognition (OCR) existent pour compenser partiellement ces lacunes, mais seulement un processus numérique natif, avec des données standardisées et structurées permettrait d’améliorer l’expérience utilisateur et d’augmenter le niveau de sécurité et garantir l’authenticité des données.

C’est dans cette optique que plusieurs initiatives proposent l’émission d’attestations numériques, comme par exemple la révision proposée par la règlementation eIDAS. Ces attestations numériques présentent des données structurées et vérifiables, pouvant être lues et vérifiées par l’entité à laquelle ces attestations sont présentées par son détenteur, automatiquement et en temps réel sans contacter l’émetteur. Ces attestations numériques présentent aussi l’avantage de permettre un partage partiel d’informations qui figurent sur l’attestation (selective disclosure). Par exemple, une personne peut partager une preuve qu’elle a plus de 18 ans, sans devoir divulguer sa date de naissance (minimisation de données).

Ainsi, et afin de digitaliser et sécuriser l’échange de données certifiées par l’Etat, l’Etat souhaite émettre des attestations numériques vérifiables en complément des certificats PDF actuels. Le but est de se baser sur des standards ouverts qui permettent un échange sécurisé et interopérable de données structurées avec vérification d’authenticité automatique (concept reconnu du Self Sovereign Identity).

Le cas retenu pour ce partenariat d’innovation est celui d’une attestation numérique vérifiable du certificat de résidence luxembourgeois détenu par le citoyen - mais le même principe pourra s’étendre à n’importe quelle autre attestation émise par l’Etat ou le secteur privé. Le citoyen devra pouvoir stocker les diverses attestations numériques dans un portefeuille numérique (digital wallet) et les présenter en entier ou seulement les éléments requis.