Simplify Legi

Call for solution type:
Innovation Partnership
Dates of Public Procurement:
from 04-09-2022 to 10-10-2022
Demo Day:
NA
Status:
Open for application
To the public procurement portal

Identified challenge

As part of the legislative process, the initiating party of a regulatory/legislative project is expected to conduct an analysis of the existing regulatory/legislative framework in order to avoid inconsistencies and duplication. Currently, this legal research involves autonomous and manual fine-tuning activities. The existing regulatory/legislative framework can be vast and complex, implying that the analysis work of the initiating party is demanding and can represent a considerable workload.

Currently, the different administrative procedures within the existing regulatory/legislative framework are not mapped. Therefore, the identification of the interactions or links between the different texts containing the administrative procedures is even more challenging. As a result, the complexity of a specific administrative procedure needs to be identified and visualised.

The objective of administrative simplification is to reduce the complexity of administrative procedures for use by administrations, citizens or companies. Within the framework of administrative simplification, it is therefore necessary to identify administrative procedures and to classify them by order of complexity with the aim of analysing administrative procedures for possible adaptations.

The life cycle of a legislative/regulatory act is predefined and includes the following steps as an example:

  • Identification of the need to legislate,
  • drafting of a normative text to meet the identified need together with any required and necessary argumentation (e.g. explanation of reasons, various impact assessments, explanatory notes to the articles) ,
  • analysis of the existing normative framework (e.g. reference to existing norms, relationship with existing norms that may need to be adapted).

Currently, each administration involved in this cycle carries out the steps of the legislative/regulatory cycle under review according to its own internal procedures.

Therefore, it appears that a certain level of standardisation and pooling would contribute to a reduction of the complexity at this level.

The proposed approach should include as a priority :

  • the determination of the concept of an administrative procedure,
  • the detection of the latter in the regulatory texts as well as
  • the detection of the level of complexity of an administrative procedure via
  • the implementation of this detection in a tool based on artificial intelligence or other technology.

Simplify Legi

Type d'appel à solution:
Partenariat d'innovation
Dates du marché public:
du 04-09-2022 au 10-10-2022
Demo Day:
15-12-2022
Statut:
En cours de développement
Vers le portail des marchés publics

Défi identifié

Dans le cadre de la procédure législative, la partie initiatrice d'un projet réglementaire/législatif est censée effectuer une analyse du cadre réglementaire/législatif existant afin d'éviter des incohérences et des doublons. Actuellement cette recherche juridique englobe des activités autonomes et manuelles de peaufinage. Le cadre réglementaire/législatif existant peut s'avérer vaste et complexe, impliquant que le travail d’analyse de la partie incitatrice est exigeant est peut représenter une charge de travail considérable.

Actuellement, il n’est pas possible de déceler efficacement les différentes démarches administratives dans le cadre réglementaire/législatif existant. Par conséquent, l’identification des interactions respectivement liens entre les différents textes reprenant les démarches administratives l’est encore moins. Il s'ensuit qu'il s'avère fastidieux de déceler la complexité d'une démarche administrative spécifique.

L'objectif de la simplification administrative est la réduction de la complexité des démarches administratives tant pour l'utilisation par les administrations, citoyens ou entreprises. Dans le cadre de la simplification administrative, il convient donc de déceler les démarches administratives et de les classer par ordre de complexité en vue d'analyser les démarches prônes à des adaptations éventuelles.

Le cycle de vie d'un acte législatif/réglementaire est prédéfini et inclut les étapes suivantes à titre d’exemple :

  • L’identification du besoin de légiférer,
  • la rédaction d'un texte normatif pour combler le besoin identifié ensemble avec toute argumentation requise et nécessaire (e.g. explication des motifs, évaluations d''impact diverses, explicatif des articles),
  • l’analyse du cadre normatif existant (e.g. référence à normes existantes, relation avec normes existantes qui devront éventuellement être adaptées).

Actuellement chaque administration entrant dans ce cycle exécute les étapes du processus de la création législative/réglementaire sous revue selon ses propres procédures internes.

Il s'avère donc qu'un certain niveau de standardisation et de mise en commun est apte à contribuer à une réduction de la complexité déjà à ce niveau.

L'approche proposée devra prioritairement inclure :

  • la détermination du concept de démarche administrative,
  • la détection de ce dernier dans les textes réglementaires ainsi que
  • la détection du niveau de complexité d'une démarche administrative via
  • l'implémentation de cette détection dans un outil se basant sur l'intelligence artificielle ou autre technologie.